top of page
Search

(25) Dorian Scales

The Dorian Scale is also called the Mixolydian Scale. It is the same as the Dominant 7th scale we just studied with a flat 7th but now we also flat the 3rd note of the scale.

C Dominant 7th

C D E F G A Bb C = C Dominant 7th scale

C D Eb F G A Bb C = C Dorian Scale



The chart following, shows all 3 modes for the 4 scales we have practiced so far. Note, to make the chart more useful for my practice I chose to show the flat notes as sharps. Pressing the slide raises the note your playing whether you are drawing or blowing so it helps me keep things straight.


The Ross Walters assignment was to first be able to play all 3 modes in sequence.


What worked for me is to have this graphic on my iPad so that I could practice the scales through out the day, even when I was watching TV! I also found it valuable and entertaining to play the Dorian scale over a backing track. The following URLs will take you to tracks I found useful, but search YouTube for C dorian Scale backing track and for the other scales and you will find a lot.



C Dorian Scale Backing Track


D Dorian Scale Backing Track


F Dorian Scale Backing Track


G Dorian Scale Backing Track


Most of my improv is just me playing potations of the scale. Add a bit of reverb and you will find the haunting Dorian scale fun to play.


C Major Dorian Scale Over a Backing Track



D Dorian Scale Over a Backing Track


I will not bore you with the other 2 scales but you get the idea!

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page