top of page
Search

(03) Finding Books that Help

Updated: Dec 27, 2020

I began building my resources with a few print items. Searching the web or Amazon results in a lot of results. I'll share the three I have purchased thus far.


When I first got this book by Max De Aloe, I did not see it as much value, but now that I have learned more basics, I see that it will indeed be important to mastery. It is a "method" book and is full of sheet music scales, licks, and songs that have carefully thought out as to sequence that will develop your skills. The book assumes you can or will learn to play from the included music notation and no tab is provided. So it will be a while before I can really make use of the book.


The author integrated the book with a resource I had not heard of called The New Real Book: Vol 1, 2, and 3. These are "fake" books of standards that Jazz players all learn as their "right of passage" While kind of expensive in printed form, Sher Music makes the digital version available for only $26 and downloadable companion audio files for all the songs at $8 a CD. Should be enough to keep me busy for years. Again it will be a while before I will need these.


 

Ross Walters, recommended the Rubank Elementary Method Flute or Piccolo book for the music theory and practice music for the Chromatic. I have read that the range of a flute compares well with the range of a Chromatic and that lead music written for the flute will be useful for chromatic players. And of course the flute does not play chords, so the included music notation will be single notes. I have my version on the way and will be reporting what I see when it arrives.






 

The third book I purchased was:

This book caught my interest because it had companion audio files for the included music notation. Again it attempts to teach you to play from music notation increasing your experience with different keys and styles over time. It has rudimentary information to help you get a good start and understand sheet music notation. ie key signature, note duration in beats, bars, etc. Because it gives access to audio files, the included melodies will probably be the first that I attempt to learn. The first few songs have Tab and music notation but it quickly switches to just music notation, which makes sense. I purchased the Kindle version.




111 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page