top of page
Search

(02) Begin with Inspiration

Updated: Dec 31, 2020

Posted 12/21/20

I recommend you begin your study of the Chromatic harmonica as I did with exposure to some of the best talent in the world with many different styles. My attendance to SPAH (Society for Preservation and Advancement of the Harmonica) has exposed me to some of the best Chromatic harmonica players in the world. I attended a 3 day workshop lead by Al and Judy Smith (The Harmonica Hotshots) which gave me an introduction to playing from sheet music. While I certainly did not make that jump at the time, it showed me the skill was within my reach if I spent enough time. Just three of the many Chromatic players that I would credit for my interest are mentioned below. I recommend you listen to each example to see why! I have also had the fun of providing Photography for each of these artists.


Chris Bauer

Chris has begun providing live performance events on Sunday evenings and each archive is a treasure cove of why the Chromatic is such an interesting instrument. Find in his live stream links as well as archives on his Facebook stream here.


Koei Tanaka


Filip Jers


I encourage you start your study of the chromatic by exploring as many performance videos as you can find on Youtube. Search for SPAH performances will result in many. Don't limit yourself to just US musicians. In many places of the world you will discover the harmonica has a better standing as a legit instrument! You will also find numerous examples of children who have obtain amazing skills.

12/20/20 02


138 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page