top of page
Search

(26) Easttop 16/64 Chromatic


I guess I am suffering from HAS (harmonica acquisition syndrome). My plan was not to purchase a new chromatic until I felt I had learned enough to deserve it, but it was my birthday and the cost of the this instrument is only a bit more than 2 of the diatonic I normally purchase. (About $180) My plan was to purchase the 12 hole instrument but the difference in price for the extra octave drew me in. I have been picking out Gospel melodies by ear and occasionally need one more note or 2 on the bottom in order to play at the bottom of the harp.


The reviews on the Easttop chromatics are good and they have a reputation of being air tight and responsive. I gave my self the restriction of purchasing from a source that could provide maintenance since these instruments are a bit more complex to work on than a diatonic. I purchased my instrument from Danny G at newharmonica.com

You can find them on eBay and other direct from China sites, but I would assume less reliable. While I am enjoying the Hohner CX12, I found this new harp can play with almost no air! That is nice when I am just practicing scales and trying to develop muscle memory. The CX12 has a reputation of being great in an acoustic band as it plays loudly. The Eastop does not get as loud but I have a mike and speaker when I need it. I also found the Easttop valves to offer less trouble than those on the CX12. The CX12 always works fine if I warm it up prior to playing, but that does not seem to be a requirement for the Easttop. The Easttop feels more fragile, so I being careful not to drop it.


Here is a video demonstration.



37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page