top of page
Search

32 Learning Happy Birthday, Chris Bauer Style

Updated: Feb 24, 2022

Now that I have mastered a few popular scales (add more over time) I find I can play basic melodies by ear, but do not have the skills and music knowledge to do much with embellishments. The result when I master a new melody, is the performance is rather dry and uninteresting. If you will remember, I had some success learning to play Smile with embellishments by listening to Chris Bauer's version. You can visit Chris Bauer Music to find melodies you would like to learn. So I returned to try this "self instruction" by listening to the pros.


Recently, I decided I would try the Chris Bauer arrangement of Happy Birthday. He traverses the song 3 times first with no or little embellishment and then two more times with fun arrangements and a great ending riff. The following video will show you how I explored the song with Anytune pro which provided looping, and slow down features I needed.








 

Here is another recording using the same backing track that Chris used on his live stream. The arrangement is approaching his delivery example, but I still I have a ways to go on timing and clarity.



25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page