top of page
Search

(04) Searching for an Online Chromatic Harmonica Curriculum

Updated: Dec 27, 2020

An important step in keeping me making progress is a formal course of study. Youtube is full of instructional materials but it is often not sequenced in any meaningful way. I know there are skilled Chromatic musicians who I can pay for Skype type lessons, but with my work I need more control over the speed at which I learn. So I am after a self paced but organized curriculum with expert feedback if possible. The Bluesharmonica.com for the diatonic is the best example I have seen. It offers instruction, practice, feedback, and rewards for progress.


For the Chromatic I found, so far the following two:


YVONNICK PRENE


Yvonnick's site is the most comprehensive material I have seen and even provides you an opportunity to record music with others, but it is $19/mo. I feel like I need to develop quite a lot before I will be able to take full advantage of this resource.


ROSS WALTERS

and



I have purchased the Ross Walters short course which currently focuses on learning to play improv in many keys. Ross, plans on adding some new material on playing from music notation. For now, I expect to work on this curriculum in tandem with other resources and will be sharing my progress in blog posts. While the Yvonnick Prene material is a bit pricey for me, I hope to find the funds for that soon. I know George Miklas is exploring whether he can teach online and will stay tuned to that possibility.



116 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page